This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in French Polynesia

French Polynesia is made up of 5 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in French Polynesia. Information on all primary administrative regions in French Polynesia.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in French Polynesia alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in French Polynesia

There are 5 regions in French Polynesia in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in French Polynesia
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Iles Australes Îles Australes1.6,310--
Iles du Vent Îles du Vent2.194,939Papeete Papeete26,357
Iles Marquises Îles Marquises3.8,982Taiohae Taiohae1,224
Iles Tuamotu-Gambier Îles Tuamotu-Gambier4.16,267--
Leeward Islands Îles Sous-le-Vent5.31,814Uturoa Uturoa3,668