Regions in French Polynesia

French Polynesia is made up of 5 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in French Polynesia. Information on all primary administrative regions in French Polynesia.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in French Polynesia alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in French Polynesia

There are 5 regions in French Polynesia in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in French Polynesia
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Iles du Vent Îles du Vent1.194,939Papeete Papeete26,357
Leeward Islands Îles Sous-le-Vent2.31,814Uturoa Uturoa3,668
Iles Tuamotu-Gambier Îles Tuamotu-Gambier3.16,267--
Iles Marquises Îles Marquises4.9,346Taiohae Taiohae1,224
Iles Australes Îles Australes5.6,310--